All the Sad Young Men. F. Scott Fitzgerald.

All the Sad Young Men

Hard Cover. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1926. First Edition. Near Fine.

First edition, first printing, with no damage to the type on pp. 38, 90, and 248 (later printings display battered type). One of 10,100 copies. Publisher's green cloth, stamped in blind to front board and in gilt to spine. Near fine with minor surface paper damage to front pastedown, and bookseller's stamp to rear pastedown. Overall, a beautiful and bright copy. Bruccoli A 12.1.a. All the Sad Young Men is Fitzgerald's third collection of short stories, and includes the following nine titles: "The Rich Boy," "Winter Dreams," "The Baby Party," "Absolution," "Rags Martin-Jones and the Pr-nce of W-les," "The Adjuster," "Hot and Cold Blood," "The Sensible Thing," and "Gretchen's Forty Winks." All the Sad Young Men was published a year after Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby, but interestingly, it includes a pseudo prequel to the iconic novel. In the story "Absolution," Fitzgerald provides a unique glimpse into Jay Gatsby's childhood as James Gatz. This chapter was eventually excluded from The Great Gatsby in order to keep the title character shrouded in compelling mystery.

Item #FSF121

Price: $350.00