All the Sad Young Men. F. Scott Fitzgerald.

All the Sad Young Men

Hard Cover. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1926. First Edition. Near Fine.

First edition, first printing, with no damage to the type on pp. 38, 90, and 248 (later printings display battered type), and in the first state dust jacket with the unbattered lips. Publisher's green cloth, stamped in blind to front board and in gilt to spine; in the original pictorial dust jacket. A near fine book with extremities lightly bumped and some toning to page edges, else very clean and bright; in a very good unclipped dust jacket, some splitting to front fold and rear edge of spine panel, two small closed tears at front fold, some shallow chips to corners, top edge, and spine head, with some damp-staining and one tiny hole to spine panel, not affecting text. Overall, an exceptionally nice copy in the fragile dust jacket. All the Sad Young Men is Fitzgerald's third collection of short stories, and includes the following nine titles: "The Rich Boy," "Winter Dreams," "The Baby Party," "Absolution," "Rags Martin-Jones and the Pr-nce of W-les," "The Adjuster," "Hot and Cold Blood," "The Sensible Thing," and "Gretchen's Forty Winks." All the Sad Young Men was published a year after Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby, but interestingly, it includes a pseudo prequel to the iconic novel. In the story "Absolution," Fitzgerald provides a unique glimpse into Jay Gatsby's childhood as James Gatz. This chapter was eventually excluded from The Great Gatsby in order to keep the title character shrouded in compelling mystery.

Item #FSF091

Price: $3,000.00

See all works by: